Travelling is one of the best things I know. You get to see new places, get to know new cultures and languages, meet new people etc. Or of course people also often travel to catch up with a friend or meet their loved ones. On this post I'm going to focus on the part about new people and places.

I have travelled with my family, with a friend, with few friends and by myself or as some people would say 'alone'. It may seem like a tiny, insignificant difference. For me personally it's quite a big one. 'Alone' has kind of a negative ring to it, as if it wasn't optional but only because nobody wanted or could come with me while 'by myself' is more positive and sounds like it's been actually my choice not to have anyone with me this time. That's how it is in my books anyway. If somebody says to me for example "so brave for you travelling alone" I'll still take it as a compliment, since the other person isn't maybe thinking about the difference of those words same way I do.

The pros and cons of travelling by yourself:

Pros

  • You can decide exactly what you want to do, where to go, who to spend time with etc.
  • In case you have made plans, they are easier to change.
  • Based on my own experience, it's easier to really make friends when travelling by myself. I think it's because if there's two or more people together, other people don't want to 'disturb' them. Someone on her/his own may be easier to approach. I've found that if I'm travelling with somebody I'll tend to stick with that person and while we may hang out with new people but the interaction is usually more superficial. When I'm by myself, I'm more open for deeper conversations with new people and that way more likely to make friends with whom the friendship may last more than the trip itself.
  • Brings great feeling of freedom within.
  • You'll likely to learn new thing about yourself, not only the about the country/countries you'll travel to.

Cons

  • For someone who likes to do some research about the resort or the place to travel and to get very excited beforehand (like me) that so called planning is only half of the fun on your own.
  • You really must be ready to have the courage to do that first move socially over and over again. Otherwise you may feel lonely.
  • Safety and practical things. Of course, it would be more safe be in the new city in the night with somebody than especially as girl travelling by yourself. However, general awereness and common sense will take you quite far. Practical things, such as not having anyone to watch after your suitcase when using the restroom. It can be sometimes quite a trick to make that fit in to the cubicle (and then back out again).

This is just a short list and based on my experience and ideas of travelling by oneself. At the end of the day travelling is great, be it with somebody or by oneself. I would still recommend travelling at least once in your life by yourself -then you'll know whether is your cup of tea or not.