Travelling and meeting other travellers (in your home country) is great. Making friends with people you have met is even better. Some frienships will last longet than others, but I do believe that every person in our lives is there for a reason. I also think that frienships and relationships are worth fighting for but there are also times and situations when letting go is the best thing to do. That's case if for example only one of the parties is fighting for it

During my year in Australia I met many friends from all over the world. Meanwhile my friends on this side of the globe moved to different areas in Finland and Europe. After gettig back here, it was great to see that with my dearest friends nothing really had changed. Except our friendships had grown stronger if anything.

Now it's over a year that I got back. It's a real joy for me to see that certain friendships are still going strong with people that are still in Australia or have moved elsewhere too. Of course with the distance like this, it's not possible to be present in each others everyday life as we would if we were in the same city, but when we catch up on skype etc. we still laugh at the similar jokes and share each others less-bright-moments too.  However, there moments that I sometimes reall wish I could take my friends to my favourite places in Helsinki or introduce two amazing friends to each other but can't because they live the opposite sides of the world and it makes me sad.

Once when I brought up this thought in a conversations with friend who also has her dear people living in different countries and cities, she told me what her friend told her when they where having a bit similar talk. The friend of hers said something along these lines "it's tough but imagine if you had people near you (geographically) but no one truly close to you (in terms of relationships)." This idea have helped me to stay grateful overses friendships even the times I've missed someone living faraway very badly. I definitely rather have dear people near and far than don't let anyone close to me at all. When I miss someone, I'd like to see that as a reminder how great people I have in my life.